GTS Annual General Meeting elects new Executive Board and Quality Committee

On 16 October 2010, GTS members met in Weimar for the 18th GTS Annual General Meeting (AGM). The central focus of this year’s AGM was the re-election of the GTS Executive Board and Quality Committee. In a unanimous ballot, the incumbent GTS president Prof. Kirsten Bobzin and the deputy presidents Prof. Erich Lugscheider, Alexander Kalawrytinos and Peter Heinrich as executive board member were confirmed in office. Werner Krömmer was elected for the first time as the 4th deputy.

The GTS management team during their first session after the Executive Board election in Weimar (from left to right):
Jens Putzier (Quality Committee chairman), Cesar Montenegro (Advisory Board), Prof. Erich Lugscheider (deputy), Alexander Kalawrytinos (deputy), Peter Heinrich (executive manager), Prof. Kirsten Bobzin (president), Werner Krömmer (deputy), Gerd Weissenfels (Advisory Board). On the right, the two outgoing members of the Executive and Advisory Boards Dieter Grasme and Dr. Heiko Gruner.
Not in the photo: the Advisory Board members Christopher Wasserman, Prof. Dieter Böhme and Jörg-Michael Willke

Prior to the session, the AGM voted on a proposal to amend the GTS Statutes which had previously provided for only 3 deputy presidents. The result of the ballot was unanimous.

As the new chairman of the Quality Committee, Jens Putzier succeeded the long-standing chairman Dieter Grasme who no longer stood for re-election due to his retirement. In his capacity as chairman, Jens Putzier is also a member of the GTS Executive Board. The incumbent members of the GTS Quality Committee Carsten Cremer, Rolf Huber, Dr. Klaus Nassenstein, Sven Hartmann and Dieter Buhmann were confirmed. Dr. Stefan Zimmermann, Jeroen Jutte and Martin Koller were elected as new members to the GTS Quality Committee.

On behalf of all GTS members, the GTS Head Office congratulates the newly elected and re-elected members of the Executive Board and Quality Committee.

Record turnout on both days

The AGM on Saturday and the Big Workshop for GTS members on Friday once again enjoyed a record turnout – on the one hand, without a doubt, due to the excellent opportunity to participate in technical and more casual exchanges, but also because of the extensive and very interesting series of presentations. The first session of the workshop dealt with the following topics:

  • Possibilities and potential of modern preparation methods, Dipl.-Ing. Viktor Drescher, Technical University Berlin, specialist field joining and coating technology

  • Technical support and special conditions for GTS members by the company Buehler GmbH,
    Dipl.-Ing. Helga Siegel, Sales Manager Buehler GmbH, Düsseldorf

  • Characteristic values of materials for thermal spray coatings, Dr. Lutz-Michael Berger, Fraunhofer Institute for Material and Beam Technology (IWS), Dresden

  • Electrochemical permeability test (on hydraulic piston rods) – how to check the quality of thermal spray coatings, Ton Kraak, Aludra B.V. in Vlaardingen (NL), and G. van Coolegem, C-Cube International bv. in Delft (NL)

  • Using standards in the company based on the example DIN EN 1274 “Thermal spraying – powders – composition and technical supply conditions, Alex Kalawrytinos, Pallas Oberflächentechnik GmbH & Co KG in Würselen

Workshop speakers (from left to right): Viktor Drescher (TU Berlin), Helga Siegel (Buehler GmbH), Dr. Lutz-Michael Berger (Fraunhofer Institute IWS), Ton Kraak (Aludra B.V.), G. van Coolegem (C-Cube International bv.), Alex Kalawrytinos (Pallas Oberflächentechnik GmbH & Co KG)

In the second session of the workshop, chaired by Prof. Kirsten Bobzin and Peter Heinrich, leaders of the project AiF/DFG Research Cluster “Thermal Spraying” presented their latest findings. As was the case last year, each individual project was presented by way of posters and explained by the respective project leaders in personal discussions. More  here.

Available for questions and answers: the project leaders of the AiF/DFG Research Cluster “Thermal Spraying”


In addition to reports by the GTS Executive Board, the executive manager and expert committees, the AGM on Saturday also offered a variety of informative lectures on topics of current interest such as statutory regulations, industrial health and safety, and environmental protection for thermal spraying:

  • Identifying mandatory regulations for operators of thermal spray systems on the part of trade associations, industrial health and safety, and legislators, Dieter Buhmann
    RSE Rad System Engineering GmbH, Ladenburg

  • Safety when working with gases for thermal spraying by Johann Raab, Linde AG,
    Linde Gas Division, Pullach

  • Implementation of an environmental management system in accordance with ISO 14001 by Gerd Weissenfels, IBEDA Sicherheitsgeräte und Gastechnik GmbH & Co. KG, Neustadt / Wied

The topic REACH was also given in-depth coverage. To this end, the GTS Quality Committee compiled a form to help the user of a spray materials describe its use to the substance manufacturer. More on this topic in the Download section.

Awards evening

The social highlight – the gala evening on Friday – was very much characterized by the conferment of the GTS Ring of Honour and GTS Innovation Award. The GTS Ring of Honour was awarded to Prof. Klaus Landes from the University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich for outstanding services to thermal spray technology. Read more here.

This year the GTS Innovation Award for the best thesis on the subject of thermal spraying was conferred twice. Read more  here.

The next AGM with workshop and golf tournament will take place will take place in Vaals/Netherlands from 5 to 6 August 2011.

Links to the topics:
GTS Executive and Advisory Boards
AiF/DFG Research Cluster “Thermal Spraying”
The GTS Ring of Honour
The GTS Innovation Award

GTS-Tagungen und Mitgliederversammlungen seit Gründung der GTS:

• Tagung zur Gründung des Interessenvereins mit Floßfahrt,
  07.08.1991 im Arabell Brauneck Hotel in Lenggries

Gründung des Vorvereins GTS Gütegemeinschaft Thermisches Spritzen e.V.
  21.10.1992 um 10.00 Uhr bei der Firma Gotek GmbH in Frankfurt/Main

1. Tagung GTS „Gütegemeinschaft Thermisches Spritzen“
  12.11. und 13.11.1992 im Hotel zur Post in Wiehl

1. Mitgliederversammlung: 07.10.1993 bei der SLV München

2. Mitgliederversammlung: 16.06.1994 ARABELLA Brauneck Hotel in Lenggries

3. Mitgliederversammlung: 13.07.1995 Hotel Munte am Stadtwald in Bremen

4. Mitgliederversammlung: 25.10.1996 Novotel Aachen in Aachen

5. Mitgliederversammlung: 11.07.1997 Arabella Hotel München Westpark in München

6. Mitgliederversammlung: 06.11.1998 MARITIM Hotel in Königswinter

7. Mitgliederversammlung: 23./24.09.1999 ARABELLA Brauneck Hotel in Lenggries

8. Mitgliederversammlung: 06./07.10.2000 Hotel Berliner Ring in Berlin

9. Mitgliederversammlung: 06.10.2001 Hotel MARITIM in Stuttgart

10. Mitgliederversammlung: 11./12.10.2002 Astron Hotel München Deutscher Kaiser in München

11. Mitgliederversammlung: 18./19.07.2003 Hotel Elbflorenz in Dresden

12. Mitgliederversammlung: 24./25.09.2004 Hotel Hafen Hamburg Classic Residenz in Hamburg

13. Mitgliederversammlung: 14./15.10.2005 Hotel Krautkrämer GmbH & Co. KG in Münster

14. Mitgliederversammlung: 29./30.09.2006 Hotel DorintResorts in Garmisch-Partenkirchen

15. Mitgliederversammlung: 07.07.2007 Hotel Vierjahreszeiten am Schluchsee

16. Mitgliederversammlung: 03./04.10.2008 Yachthafen Residenz Hohe Düne in Rostock-Warnemünde

17. Mitgliederversammlung: 17./18.07.2009 RAMADA Hotel Herzogenaurach Herzo-Base

18. Mitgliederversammlung: 15./16.10.2010 Dorint Am Goethepark Weimar in Weimar

Stand: November 2010





Last updated: 22.12.16 Home Copyright (C) 2009 GTS e.V.