GTS honorary membership


GTS honorary membership is a special distinction which the founding members of GTS laid down in the statutes from the very outset. The GTS Executive Board can award honorary membership to individual persons who have rendered outstanding services to GTS and to thermal spraying . 

The following persons have been appointed GTS honorary members to date:

Prof (em. Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. E.h.) Hans-Dieter Steffens

– honorary member since 1998 –

Hans-Dieter Steffens and the TU Dortmund joined GTS in 1993. From 1994 to 1998, he was on the GTS Advisory Board and accompanied the association in its founding period with his tremendous technical knowledge in the field of thermal spraying.

Dr Hartwig Reimann  †

– honorary member since 2006 –

Hartwig Reimann was one of the 16 members of the GTS founding committee that laid the foundations for the association in 1991. Along with Gotek GmbH, he was also a founding member of GTS in 1992 and was GTS president from 1992 to 2006.
Dr Hartwig Reimann passed away on 29 May 2018.

Prof Heinrich Kreye

– honorary member since 2006 –

Heinrich Kreye became a GTS member along with the Helmut-Schmidt University, University of the Federal Armed Forces Hamburg, in 1996 and supported the association and its committees with his technical expertise for many years. From 1994 to 2006, he was co-organizer of the five HVOF Colloquia together with GTS. In his role as joint program planner, he contributed significantly to the success of these events.

Prof Techn Erich Lugscheider

– honorary member since 2014 –

Erich Lugscheider was one of the 16 founding members who was elected onto the GTS Executive Board during its first meeting in 1992. He and his faculty at the RWTH Aachen then joined GTS in 1993. Until 2014, Erich Lugscheider was deputy to the president and was highly committed to the association and to the further development of thermal spraying.

Will Herlaar

– honorary member since 2014 –

Will Herlaar was the chairman of the Vereniging voor Thermische Spuittechnieken (VTS), the Dutch Association for Thermal Spray Technology, from 2008 to 2012. At the beginning of his chairmanship, he joined GTS along with VTS as a partner association. In the following years, he strengthened the cooperation with GTS and all VTS members also joined GTS in 2014. Even after his time in office, he continued to offer extensive support to both associations on a voluntary basis.